Home News Tumut and Tumbarumba to merge

Tumut and Tumbarumba to merge


Tumut Shire Council will merge with Tumbarumba as part of wide-ranging local government reform proposed by the State Government today.

A recommendation by the Local Government Review of a tri-council amalgamation between Tumut, Gundagai and Tumbarumba has been superseded by today’s announcement, with Gundagai Shire being told it will merge with Cootamundra Shire Council.

Statewide NSW’s 152 councils will be cut to 112, with Sydney council reducing from 43 to 25.

Premier Mike Baird and Local Government Minister Paul Toole announced regional councils forced to merge will receive $5 million in transition funding, while metropolitan councils will receive  $10 million in transitional funding for two joining councils, with three receiving $15 million.

Mr Baird said council amalgamations will occur through the Boundaries Commission process in which an appointed panel assesses, consults and examines matters relating to local government areas. Communities and councils will have the opportunity to have their say about the proposals.

Council elections are likely to be pushed from the scheduled September 2016 to March 2017.

More to come.